SB 6/HB 7189: How Did Marion County's Legislators Vote?

SB 6, and it's companion bill, HB 7189, undermine our teachers by tying their pay to standardized test scores like the FCAT. These bills force local school districts to no longer consider experience or professional education when hiring teachers. So when these bills came to a vote, did our legislators stand up for our teachers? Unfortunately, most of them didn't.

Senate Floor Vote (SB 6)

Sen. Carey Baker (R-Dist. 20)
Sen. Evelyn Lynn (R-Dist. 7)
Sen. Steve Oelrich (R-Dist. 14)

Sen. Charlie Dean (R-Dist. 3)

House Floor Vote (HB 7189)

Rep. Larry Cretul (R-Dist. 22)
Rep. Kurt Kelly (R-Dist. 24)
Rep. Marlene O'Toole (R-Dist. 42)

Rep. Charles "Chuck" Chestnut (D-Dist. 23)
Rep. Charles Van Zant (R-Dist. 21)

Click the appropriate links above to see the full vote count. SB 6 passed the Senate 21-17, HB 7189 passed the House 64-55. Every Democrat and a handful of Republicans in both chambers voted against these bills.

Here in Marion County, we thank Sen. Dean and Representatives Chestnut and Van Zant for standing with our teachers, our schools, and our future. We are very disappointed with Senators Baker, Lynn, and Oelrich in addition to Representatives Cretul, Kelly, and O'Toole, who voted to undermine our teachers.

It is now up to Gov. Crist to decide what to do with these bills. He so far is threatening a possible veto.

Do you like this post?

Showing 1 reaction

commented 2013-12-27 14:28:08 -0500 · Flag
Thank you